Hosbilt Cup 2010

  • The Hosbilt CupThis year the Hosbilt Cup will be awarded to the bass section as chosen by their peers.

    Fourteen bands played in the finals at the World Pipe Band Championships. Each band in the finals will be polled to chose a section other than themselves for the Cup.

    The eligible bass sections include:

    • 78th Fraser Highlanders Pipe Band
    • Auckland & District Pipe Band
    • Boghall & Bathgate Caledonia Pipe Band
    • Cullybackey Pipe Band
    • Dowco Triumph Street Pipe Band
    • Field Marshal Montgomery Pipe Band
    • Fide Constabulary Pipe Band
    • Inveraray & District Pipe Band
    • Robert Wiseman Dairies Vale of Atholl Pipe Band
    • ScottishPower Pipe Band
    • Simon Fraser University Pipe Band
    • St Laurence O’Toole Pipe Band
    • Strathclyde Police Pipe Band
    • The House of Edgar Shotts & Dykehead Pipe Band

    This new approach differs from the process in the past. From 1985 up until 2007 the award was presented to the bass section of choice by the RSPBA drumming judge in the MSR final at the Worlds Pipe Band Championship. In 2008 and 2009 the public was polled by pipes|drums to determine the popular winner. This year each of the 14 finalist bass sections will determine the winner. A new spin on the old idea of recognizing all of the hard work that mid-sections put into their craft.

    March 19th, 2011 | Craig | Comments Off on Hosbilt Cup 2010 |

About The Author

Craig Colquhoun

Comments are closed.